Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I know I have said time and time again that I like the rain.  It doesn’t bother me at all.  It makes for a cozy day, cuddled up on the couch with a good book or movie.  It makes me feel less guilty about being stuck inside at work, when I look out my window and see dark clouds and pouring rain.

When Patrick and I have an outdoor activity planned, on the other hand, RAIN SUCKS!

Outside.  In the rain.

Outside. In the rain.

The weather had been pretty decent all week long.  As soon as the weekend came around…BAM here comes the rain.  And rain it did.

We had made plans to go to Universal Studios.  I had received a free ticket through my university and Patrick’s ticket was going to be discounted (a lot), so we HAD TO go.  The last time I was at Universal was about three years ago, when I went with my family.  Harry Potter Land had just opened up too.  I am obsessed with that place and we had a chance to go for basically pennies!  We had to go.  Even though it was pouring rain, we still had to go!  And go we did.

Lucky for us, the lines for most of the rides we went on were inside.  The park was open only to the students of our university so there weren’t that many people there either! 

Respect the spell limit

Please respect the spell limits

I think the rain added to the ambiance of Harry Potter Land (what I call ALL of Universal).  It’s most like the weather in England anyway (at least what they portray in the movies)!

I'm at Hogsmeade!

I’m at Hogsmeade!

Hogwarts Castle

Hogwarts Castle

I was seriously like a little kid.  I was taking pictures all through the line of the ride. 

Hint: If you ever happen to go here, don’t take the single rider line, even if the wait time is quicker than the regular line.  You will miss all the cool stuff inside the castle.  Walking through the line is one of the best parts of the whole ride!

Statue inside the castle

Statue inside the castle

Secret stairwell to Dumbledore's study

Secret stairwell to Dumbledore’s study

Harry, Ron, and Hermione

Harry, Ron, and Hermione – also, in this room, Ron does a spell that makes it snow! (Its a foam machine in the ceiling but I was sooooo happy it “snowed” on us!)

The pictures are a little dark because I was taking them with my cellphone.

Sorting Hat

Sorting Hat

  I honestly could not have been happier!

Butterbeer!

Butterbeer!

Wait. Yes. Yes, I could have.  Now I am the happiest I have ever been.  Ever!

Hogsmeade

Hogsmeade

Owl Post

Owl Post

Wands!

Wands!

OMG I really wanted a wand!  Maybe when I have a kid, it will be an excuse to buy myself them a wand 🙂

Hogwarts Castle

Hogwarts Castle

Seriously, best trip ever!  A little rain won’t stop us!  And, as Dr. Seuss once put it: “I know it is wet and the sun is not sunny, but we can have lots of good fun that is funny.”  We certainly did (because we went on the Cat in the Hat ride too)!

~Tarah

 

