Tags

, , , , , ,

Today has been a very odd day.  I already scheduled for a post to go up (I forget what time exactly but it’s most likely up by now) but somehow felt the need to write more.  Well, that and the fact that I need to make it seem like I am working.  Regardless of my inclination for posting twice in one day, I do feel like it has been such a strange day.  And you (my reader(s)) win because, well, I’m posting twice!

I am sitting at my desk with a live feed of the news broadcast from Boston.  I periodically pop in an ear bud to listen, but still no new information.  Twitter updates, instagram photos, and Facebook posts all with hashtags about the bombings and suspects have had me unable to peel my eyes away.  It is very nerve wracking and scary.  I can’t image how the people of Watertown, MA feel .  They have been told they shouldn’t really be leaving their homes so as not to hinder the manhunt in anyway.

My sister, who thankfully does not live to the west of Boston, does not have to stay inside.  She was scheduled to go into the city and work later this evening though.  I don’t think that will be happening.  The T is at a standstill and so are other forms of public transportation.   She was a bit freaked out and subsequently decided to heed our warnings and just stay inside and watch movies all day.  I feel better knowing this.

I, all the way down here in Florida, feel useless.  I just wish I could be with my family, all sitting around the TV, enraptured.  Even though we can’t do anything about the situation at least I would feel better just being surrounded by my fellow New Englanders/Bostonians.

Work is equally unsettling today too.  It is really quite here.  Yesterday I let both my boss and the office manager know that I am resigning.  Since we had a scheduled pizza luncheon today, my boss wanted me to announce this news to everyone.  I did not feel comfortable with that.  I did not do that.  I simply told them that I would send out an email to everyone closer to the time of my departure.  This, as you can imagine, made the group luncheon rather weird.  The office manager did announce that there were some changes to the company that would be announced during yet another group outing sometime next week.  I can only assume that that announcement will be about me.  Hey, as long as I don’t have to get up in front of everyone and uncomfortably tell them that I don’t work there anymore then I don’t really mind so much.

Really, just a strange, unsettling day.  This feeling I have could also be exacerbated by the fact that I have not had coffee today, yet.  I need to fix that problem.  At least it’s one problem that I can fix, if you would consider a caffeine addiction a problem.  I do.  I just spent 5 minutes, just now, envisioning the large coffee I will procure on my way home this afternoon.  There is a Dunkin Donuts on the drive and I am stopping there.  For caffeine.  And maybe a cake donut.  Boost the blood sugar level while I’m at it.

Well that’s all folks.  At this point, I’d just be rambling if I were to type more.   I will say this though: writing about the bombings and all that has happened, to both the nation and me personally, has really helped.  I like the cathartic nature of blogging and just being honest about the things I write.  Okay, really, that’s all I had.

Happy Friday everyone.

~Tarah

