Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s already well into April.  A fact which I can’t seem to believe yet.  My wedding is 115 days away.  That’s not that far off.  Last night I talked with my Dad and Leanne (step-mom).  It seems that Leanne has sort of “acquired” a wedding planner.  Just like that.  She has a way of doing things to this effect.  Said planner will provide her services out of the goodness of her heart.  That. Is. Awesome.  I have been ripping my hair out with worry!  Well no, not really.  But I’ve certainly thought about it.  Things are coming down to the wire now.  Just last night several things were accomplished, but since I was in a delirious state of exhaustion I can’t really be sure what those several things were.  I guess this kind of has to do with the point I’m trying to make.  Everything should be a table of some sort and should be meticulously entered into the most god-awful program in the world…Excel.

Yes.  Excel.  You read it correctly.  If you are planning your own wedding, like I, you need rows upon columns of carefully planned Excel spreadsheets.  I have typed up budgets, copied monthly planning guides, and created fickle equations to sum it all up for me.  WHAT DO YOU MEAN THAT’S NOT A RECOGNIZED CHARACTER!!!  #NAME? my ass!!!  You will sum these cells up for me!  Circular Reference Warning?  My head hurts.  Anyway, what I am trying to do is instill knowledge unto my fellow bride-to-be-do-it-all-super-women.  What?  I am not talking about myself.  Maybe just a little…

Here are the things that I have created Excel Spreadsheets for and they truly are life+time saving:

Budget
Timeline
Guest List
Music List
Monthly Planner

(There are probably a ton more ideas/items to throw into an Excel sheet but these are all my brain could handle.)

Budget:

Budget

Budget

I left in the money-stuffs I already talked about in a previous post, so yes, that was intentional (I didn’t forget to blur it out).

Timeline:

Timeline

Timeline

It’s easy to move things around when it’s in this format.  I also have everything synced to Dropbox so as soon as I make a change, everyone that has this document will receive the update (this goes for all documents I have pertaining to the wedding).

Guest List:

Guest List

Guest List

Once the formal invitations are sent out, I will add another column to this list.  Looking back, I would just use a “1” to denote that the Save the Date was sent and not a “Y” for yes (and also if a guest responded to the RSVP – either a “1” or “0” respectively) so that way you can sum up the column of 1s and 0s to get a grand total head count.  For the guests I put in as a “couple” (those that don’t have their own separate line) remember to add “2” and not “1” to that corresponding guest count column (I made this mistake and there were 20-some people unaccounted for)!

Unfortunately I don’t have my wedding music list or the monthly timeline in my Dropbox so I can’t throw them in here right now.  I will be updating the post with those items when I get to my home computer so check back!

Now that I have sufficiently given myself a headache, I will leave you to ponder the evil ways of Excel and why man ever created it in the first place.  ‘Tis a blessing and a curse.  Can’t live with it, can’t live without it!

Happy Hump Day

~Tarah

