Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’d like to take some time today to talk about some very serious issues.  Well, no.  I lied.  Most of them aren’t that serious.

Let’s take a moment to discuss the “first” airline to charge passengers by their weight.  I’m not kidding.  Samoa Airlines will be charging based not only on the weight of luggage but also the weight of the passenger as well.  The airline’s chief executive said “Airlines don’t run on seats, they run on weight and particularly the smaller the aircraft you are in the less variance you can accept in terms of the difference in weight between passengers,”.

This makes sense to me.  The more a person weighs, the more fuel is burned and fuel consumption needs to be taken into account on these long trans-oceanic flights.  I have been on a few prop planes before which did weigh passengers but I’m pretty sure they didn’t charge based on weight.  They did divvy us up according to our weight though.  The airline was Cape Air.  My family and I were heading to the Nantucket Strawberry Festival (or some sort of festival…) and instead of taking the commuter (fast) ferry, my step-dad thought it would be cool to take a plane.  Since he was the heaviest aboard, he had to sit up front in the jump seat (the co-pilot seat or the seat next to the pilot seat).

Cape Air

Cape Air

Photo Courtesy.

So, as you can see…the craft is extremely small.  I’m even wondering how the people in the above photo fit into that clown plane.  And where is their luggage?!  I think the guy on the end didn’t make the cut.  He was sent home.  Poor guy.

Wow….I’m off on some dirt road tangent.  Back to the matter at hand.  The point is, Cape Air seems to have similar aircraft to the Samoa Air planes.  It makes sense that the next logical step after weighing passengers is to charge more for those who weigh more.  I guess this may technically already be happening.  When large people need to buy two seats on a plane because they don’t fit in just one.  Is that really for their comfort, my comfort, or fire code?  Or are airlines thinking that the one large person averaged over two seats make up the weight differences between passengers.  I mean, that could be it?!  Right?!  Either way, I think I agree.  I think it’s a good practice.  It certainly makes sense.

The radio station I always listen to was discussing the topic around the first of the month.  They posed the question to listeners  as to what other types of things obese individuals should get charged more for.  One reasonable and nondiscriminatory caller said cruises.  Since the same principle applies to cruises, the heavier the ship is, the more fuel is consumed, that passengers be charged by weight.  I think it makes perfect sense.  What do you think?  Totally insensitive and discriminatory OR perfectly logical?  I think you know which camp I’m in.

On to other important topics: Gay Marriage.

Yes.  Yes and yes.  Yes.  I shall say a few more words on the matter:

Number one: I have gay friends.  I am friends with these individuals because they are awesome and worth being friends with.  If they weren’t awesome, I wouldn’t be their friend.

Number two: Awesome people deserve every bit of happiness that is bestowed upon un-awesome people.  I mean…who am I to determine who is awesome and who is not.  Granted, I have my opinions and if I believe someone to not be awesome, I just don’t befriend them.  Enough said. (Did I just unknowingly make an analogy? I can’t be sure.)

Number few: Didn’t we, as a nation, already do this whole “separate but equal” thing?!  Didn’t work out so great huh?  Yea, that’s what I thought.  Maybe gays should drink from separate water fountains!  <— Yea that doesn’t sound asinine does it?!  Get real people.  It’s the 21st century.  Babies are made in test tubes now.  The wave of the future is upon us.  Time for a change, eh? (I’m not Canadian, but the “eh” sounded like it should be a part of that last sentence).  “Oh well…um…if gay people get married then it’s not really marriage.”  Like I said, we already did this whole separate-but-equal-call-it-what-you-like-it’s-not-the-same-thing-for-you-as-it-is-for-me bullshit.  IT DIDN’T WORK BEFORE, it’s not going to work now.  It never worked before! America was broken then.  I think America is broken now. 

Number (more than) a few: As a woman, I had to deal with listening to the idiots talk about “illegitimate” rape!?  WTF is that?  I think they got us confused with the Aflac duck (I cannot attest to the accuracy of that website…it may be illegitimate info), but either way…I think that some people just like the sound of their own voice, no matter what poo comes out of it.

So on this issue…I think you all know which camp I’m in.  I think Sheldon Cooper’s mom summed it up nicely (regardless of the topic in which the clip is about–Creationism vs. Evolutionism–the message is quite clear).

Bacon Equals...yea....

Bacon Equals…yea….

Happy Tuesday people.

~Tarah

