Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

If you remember this post then you’ll see that a “Grinds My Gears” was in order.  However, at the current moment I just don’t have it in me.  I am surprisingly calm and at peace right now.  I mean granted I’m sitting at my desk wondering to myself why the HELL is it freezing in my office.  The A/C is set to like auto “snow” or something.  I sit in one of the smallest office rooms and it is the only one in the suite that has 2 overhead vents.  Not 1, but 2.  My lordy lord…WHY?!  It’s not like we have to cool some super-computer in this room.  Nope.  That’s down the hall.  Please redirect the damn vent THAT WAY!

Polar Bears.  Heading towards my office.

Polar Bears. Heading towards my office.

Photo Courtesy.

I digress.  I do that often.  But as I was saying, I am in a pleasant mood right now and wouldn’t want to ruin it with a post about what irks me.  Instead I will try to enumerate the “Whys” of why I blog.

Probably the most prominent reason of why I started this blog was to chronicle the year leading up to my wedding.  If we want to get technical, I should have started posting as soon as I got engaged.  But I did cover the events that occurred from the proposal to when I did in fact start the blog.  That one’s a doozy of a read so have some time on your hands if you want to tackle it.  Of course, that was my first real post, with words.  I got a little carried away.  I had so much to tell, so much to share, and so much to just put in a place that I could come back to later and see untouched and unaltered by time.  That place is here.

As I started posting about the wedding and plans for parties and such things, I realized that there was way more to me than just obsessing about trivial nonsense.  I mean, DUH, my wedding is going to be the single most important day of my life, but if I wrote only about my wedding, I think the blog would be boring.  I have a life and what I do on a daily basis characterizes how I plan for important events, like say, a wedding.  It also shapes the person I am going to be.  I want to be able to look back on my early blog posts and see why I was so stressed out or where my life took turns.  I think that’s the fun part of it all.

I guess those are the reasons I started the blog.  The reasons why I continue are not just to update my readers on wedding-stuffs (ya like that?!).  No.  The reasons why continue to morph on a daily basis.  Maybe I have way too much time on my hands or my life really is that interesting.  Who knows.  The point is that I have things I’d like to share.

My mom told me just the other day, after reading my Family post, that I have a gift for writing.  Now, before the critics come crawling out of the woodwork…MY MOTHER said it.  Of course my mom is my biggest fan (she also said that too…WHATCHU GONNA DO ‘BOUT IT?!).  Apparently she read the post a few times and with each time through she cried more.  I hardly meant to make anyone upset with my post.  I asked her if they were good or bad tears.  She said she didn’t know.  I have to admit, when I was writing it, I got teary-eyed a few times too.  They are a mixture of happy and sad, good and bad tears.  The joy with which we remember fond memories of late family members also brings the sorrow of realization that those wonderful people are no longer with us anymore.  A double-edged sword.  The paradoxical impasse (my head hurts now).

I would like to blog about those things; about family, life, and love.  Of course I’ll try to pepper in some really cool stuff along the way.  I try to be creative in the kitchen, so why not throw in some recipes here and there.  I work out a lot.  Heck, that might make someone’s life a little better if they try some of the work-outs I do, so let’s throw those in there too.  I found a cool website or a post or a picture…sure why not, I’ll just link it right here.  That’s what it’s all about, right?!  Just sharing a story.  From one person to another (hi reader(s))!

Hopefully in the future, my old-self, my husband’s old-self, and our middle-aged kids will be able to find this little nook, among all of the other nooks, on the interwebs (that’s what I’ll call it when I’m old) and smile on the fond memories of “crazy mom” back in 2013 (and all the years to come — I’m not stopping anytime soon…sorry).

~Tarah

P.S. Instead of working on my thesis, like I should have been doing this weekend, I made my computer transparent.  See!

Transparent Computer

Transparent Computer

 

