Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Those of you who are following me know that I recently started to dabble in photography.  I purchased a Nikon DSLR and I am super happy with it and what I have been able to do so far.  I recently heard that there were some DSLR cameras that have WiFi capabilities built right into the body of the camera.  Mine does not.  I’m not bummed about it.  I knew that going in.  But, there are different options to be able to instantly download my pictures.

Here’s my dilemma:  I am going to be traveling home quite a bit from now until my wedding and then for my honeymoon, Patrick and I are going to Vegas.  I will be taking a lot of pictures on my camera during these occasions.  I don’t want to lug my laptop around during these trips and was just planning on taking my iPad and obviously I will have my phone.  I would like to be able to use these devices to transfer my pictures from the camera to my Flickr account so that way I have them backed up and I’m not just leaving hundreds of thousands of pictures on my memory card (that is a no-no).

Here are the two options I have come across:

Nikon Wireless Mobile Adapter

or

Eye-fi Memory Card

I am leaning more towards the Nikon Wireless Mobile Adapter instead of the Eye-fi card because I already have crazy amounts of large, fast, memory cards.  I don’t necessarily want to spend almost the same amount of money on a card that is less than half the size of my current cards.  However, my dilemma persists.  I don’t mind the $60 price tag of the adapter, the fact that it hinders LCD screen usage, or that I can’t use my leather case with it.  I do mind that the reviews of this product are so up and down!  I have looked at reviews from the actual Nikon site, Best Buy, and Amazon.  Some people say it’s the greatest thing ever and others say it was a huge waste of money.  Now, I am weary of taking these reviews at face value.  Some of the negative reviews have come from people that didn’t do their homework before hand and ended up with a product that either isn’t compatible with their camera, phone software, or they were trying to use it outside the U.S.  Other negative reviews come from people who did research before purchase and still ended up hating the thing because it didn’t do what they thought it did.

All I am looking for is a simple, fast, way to upload my original size photos from my camera to my Flickr account without having to plug either my camera or the memory card in to an actual computer (because I won’t have one available to me).

By the way, I have a Nikon D5200 (in case there are tech savvy people reading this and may be able to help).

I have Patrick on the lookout for something but so far, his opinions on the products mentioned above are highly indifferent.

~Tarah

P.S. Dongle is a funny word.

P.P.S. I thought this post was kind of bland so I would like to add this:

A plant that is growing in our sink.

A plant that is growing in our sink.

Don’t mind my dirty sink. We just dumped coffee + grinds down there. While cleaning for Easter dinner, we removed the dish dryer rack that normally covers this sink, and discovered LIFE.

