Tags

, , , , , ,

I am still sick. Unfortunately. I have had this raging sore throat since this past Tuesday. As I’ve mentioned before, Patrick has been amazing. Making me soup, getting drugs for me (the legal kind, of a pharmaceutical nature), making sure I am drinking enough fluids and keeping my electrolytes in balance, and periodically taking my temperature and telling me I should take a nap. Since Tuesday’s hint of a sore throat, my illness has spiraled out of control. I have developed a headache and an earache which throbs and feels like a hot poker in my ear. Yesterday (Friday for all you folks at home) I went to the doctor and requested that they do a quick strep test for me.

This is my gross throat. I sent this picture to my mom because she is a nurse and I wanted to know if it was pertinent I go to the doctor.

This is my gross throat. I sent this picture to my mom because she is a nurse and I wanted to know if it was pertinent I go to the doctor.

After telling them my allergies and medical history (which they have on file…I’ve been going to this place for years now), and when the first day of my last period was (why the hell do they need this information again? I have a raging sore throat…I’m not pregnant) they finally got around to asking me the relevant questions like if I had a headache (yes), if I had a fever (no, Pat was all over that), if I had chest or sinus congestion (yes I live in Florida, everyone develops allergies here), if I had a sore throat (uh, hello, that’s what I made this appoint in regards to), and other such questions. They swabbed my tonsil which made me gag but then the guy who swabbed it said I did a good job…apparently I looked like I needed confirmation of a job well done. For my reflexes. They sent me down to the lab and I waited 20 minutes for the results of my quick strep. Really, I think the only reason I waited 20 minutes was not because that’s how long the culture takes, but because the lab lady was texting on her phone and then most likely gave up because her story was just too juicy that she broke down and called whomever it was she was texting to talk about her new puppy. Seriously. I’m fucking sick and miserable and don’t want to sit around in this infectious cesspool that is my university’s health center. I just want to go home!

Finally, she called out to me and told me that I could go back upstairs for the results. Yay me. I have to walk more.

Turns out I don’t have strep, but a nasty viral infection that can’t be fixed via antibiotics (but its not contagious, so that’s good). I was told to just let it run it’s course and to drink lots of fluids. Yes, will do. This is information that is totally foreign to me. Thank you.

So, yea….I still feel lousy. I just have to let my tonsil do what it is going to do. However, I will not let it deter me from making Easter Bread (donning gloves and a facial mask no less), which is an Italian tradition in my family. Easter bread is an egg based bread braided with hard boiled eggs and formed into either a “wreath” shape or a “doll” shape.

Easter Bread Wreath

Easter Bread Wreath

Photo courtesy.

Easter Bread Dolls

Easter Bread Dolls

Photo courtesy.

I have my own photos somewhere, I am just too lazy to search for them, but you get the idea of what the bread is supposed to look like.

We are also having Patrick’s brother and sister over for our Easter Dinner. The menu will consist of a maple and brown sugar glazed ham, green bean casserole, sweet potato casserole, crescent rolls, and cheesy square potatoes. As I type this, I realized we totally overlooked dessert and I just let Pat know. He is going back out and getting a Publix Dutch Apple Pie. What? They are fabulous and actually rival my grandma’s. Blasphemy, I know. But slightly true. My grandma’s is better, but when your sick and already making so much…you gotta cave a little.

~Tarah

