Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone!  Not many people can say that they have their very own Patrick at home but I can, I can!

In celebration of the day, Patrick and I went on a hike through a wilderness trail in our area.  We saw many green things (which is appropriate) and I took lots of pictures.  It was a beautiful day and not too hot.  I believe the trail that we took was about 3 miles but if you walk all the off-shooting paths then you have the opportunity to walk about 5+ miles in total.

Hiking in Central Florida

It took me about 10 minutes to figure out how to get my camera to focus on this thing, but I thought it looked pretty…

Everything was really serene, in fact too quiet.  We didn’t see that many birds or other wildlife.  I guess I am okay with that because I don’t think encounters with wild boars ever ends well.

Hiking in Central Florida

When we finished our trek and headed home, we got cleaned up, and I started making my mema’s famous Irish Soda Bread.  Since Patrick isn’t a huge fan of cabbage, we decided to skip on the corned beef and cabbage and he is making Shepard’s Pie instead (a favorite family recipe from his mom).  Along with a Guinness and green shamrock shaped sugar cookie, I think we are in fantastic shape to celebrate the red-haired, freckled, drunken, lucky, kilted, Irish holiday (most of that is probably extremely racist and politically incorrect, but I mean it only in the best of ways and intentions are well)!

Hiking in Central Florida

Hiking in Central Florida

Hiking in Central Florida

After we walked about half way, we came upon this odd and strangely eerie part of the trail.

Hiking in Central Florida

The creepy “dead forest”

There were weird, gnarled tree stump looking things and the whole area was just fantastic for taking neat pictures.

Hiking in Central Florida

Hiking in Central Florida

Earlier in the day, Patrick wanted to kayak in this “stream”.  I later told him after we walked by here,

“You would have had such a fun time navigating this cluster f*ck…”

Hiking in Central Florida

There was this weird red thing sticking out and it looked like a tongue

Hiking in Central Florida

Tree with the tutu on

I loved this area.  The water was lower than it would normally be so we got to go further along the edge.  I found this little passage though a tree and it’s protruding, exposed roots.  The tree in the background had rows of branches in a near flat and perfect circle around the trunk that formed a “tutu” of leaves!

Hiking in Central Florida

We wondered what lived in there…

Hiking in Central Florida

Kiss me! I’m Irish!

Let’s all toast to another amazing day and weekend adventure!  It was amazing to look at what is all around us and in our city with new eyes (or camera lens) and enjoy the experience with my Patrick on this very green day 🙂

~Tarah

