Tags

, , , , ,

The weather in my neck of Florida has been really great lately.  The days have been moderately temperate and the nights cool with very little/no humidity.  However, this string of weather doesn’t really do much for our bone dry landscape.  Forest fires have been cropping up the past few months and without lightening to set them off, I’m saddened to think that someone is lighting them just for “funn-zies”.  That’s not really the point of this post though.  I am writing about the weather today.  It is finally raining and we desperately needed it.  I like the nice spring sunshine that has graced us for the past week or so BUT I also like my rainy days too.  Lately I have been stuck inside working on my thesis and other related research-type things and when it is nice and warm and sunny out…THOSE DAYS SUCK!

I have tried working outside in my backyard but the bugs are atrocious (I’m from New England and bugs don’t get this big up there!) and the sun glare is unbearable.  There is a nice shady spot in my front yard under our oak tree but then I realized that said large bugs like that oak tree too.  There have been some particularly horrifying species of spiders that have called our oak trees home and I am not happy about it!  FYI, I have my own picture of the spinybacked orb weaver…I just have to find it on my old camera.  There is also a GINORMOUS spider which created this beautiful web.  Terrifyingly large, but beautiful.

Spiney-backed Orb Weaver - may also be a "crab spider" or so I've heard.

Spiney-backed Orb Weaver – may also be a “crab spider” or so I’ve heard.

Crazy huge spider that made the crazy huge web spanning from our tree to our neighbors tree!

Crazy huge spider that made the crazy huge web spanning from our tree to our neighbors tree!

Another horrifying view of the beast.

Another horrifying view of the beast.

Huge terrifying web. Beautiful though.

Huge terrifying web. Beautiful though.

I digress.  We were talking about the rain here.  And me alluding to the fact that I like to stay inside (not all the time, but most of the time) because I am a (hermit) homebody.  There is just something about the rain that is very soothing and cozy.  I love thunderstorms! Boy does Florida have some of the best!

On days like today, I just want to curl up on my couch underneath my comfy fleece blanket with Boston Dog nestled somewhere and read a good book, watch a movie and eat popcorn, peruse Pinterest for hours….

Sometimes the best days of Florida are not those hot, blistering, and blindingly-sunshiny ones, but those where the wind is whipping, the sky is dark, and clouds are heavy with precipitation.

Time to go cuddle up now 🙂

~Tarah

March 14, 2013 Addendum: I added my photos of the spiders that will invade my home probably very shortly…

